[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Japan

If you ever take a notion for a visit to Japan, I’d recommend you seek Michele and Ted, They’re with Riviera Travel and you will become a fan, For as tour guides both are really streets ahead.

They organise their parties with efficiency sublime, With knowledge and good humour by the ton,

And even when we’re naughty and we don’t turn up on time, Their patience just goes on and on and on. So thank you for your expertise, your energy and fun, You’ve really helped us all to understand

And appreciate the beauty of this Land of Rising Sun That’s the people and the culture of Japan.

Review by: Kate McIntosh on 30/05/2018

Sicily

For Linda & I it is the first holiday with Riviera and it didn't disappoint, packed from start to finish with wonderful experiences.

The Valley of the Temples, the Cathedral at Monreale and my wife particularly loved the boat trip at Siracusa, and my highlight the Villa del Casale.

We would both like to thank all the guides without exception, for their expert knowledge, Claudio, Marilu, & Josie and of course not forgetting the best Tour Manager ever Rosario.

The only problem left is which Riviera tour or cruise to choose in future.

Thanks John Crabtree

Review by: john crabtree on 03/06/2018

Costa Rica

Picked this trip as a special holiday for my wife's 50th birthday and wow, what an amazing place. From the first main stay in the rain forest of Tortuguero on the Caribbean coast through to the golden beach of Guanacaste on the Pacific coast, we loved every single minute. Our tour manager John was absolutely brilliant and had us all in stitches with his jokes and anecdotes, but also had us enthralled with some great historical stories about the region. Rogelio, our local guide, was so friendly, energetic and knowledgeable about everything. Both were an absolute joy to spend our holiday with. I've got to say that our favourite place was at the volcano at Arenal. The view was spectacular and I don't think we'll ever forget waking up to the clouds drifting across its peak. The icing on the cake, however, was the group of people on holiday with us. Made some great friends to share the great memories with. Will definitely be booking with Riviera again.

Review by: Andy & Sue Redgate on 05/05/2018

Rhine & Moselle River Cruise

We travelled on the Oscar Wilde and the whole experience was superb - from start to finish. The crew - and by that we mean everybody - were exceptional and frankly, those crew-members that provided the waiter service could show some 'High-End' restaurant waiting staff a thing or two. Our 'special person' for the trip was our Tour Manager - Hannah. Thank you for my new glasses Hannah! We have nothing but praise for everyone involved on this trip and our personal thanks to everyone for making it a trip of a lifetime for us.

Review by: Mike and Linda Otley on 17/05/2018

Jerusalem, Galilee & the Dead Sea

What a great tour! It was exactly what we were hoping for and expecting. Full itinerary which included many of the top sights in Israel, we did so much we had to write down a list of what and where and when. Our fellow travelers were great people. Always felt safe even walking around Jerusalem on our own and Raya and Geoff were terrific guides, so knowledgeable, caring and helpful. Full marks again Riviera.

Review by: Jerry Braker on 21/05/2018

Helsinki, Tallinn & Riga

A highly enjoyable tour around the Baltic. Three very interesting cities and a well organised tour. Alex was a super tour manager and Raoul (the Estonian City Guide) gave an hilarious and informative tour. He should do stand-up! Marvellous all round.

Review by: Dave on 18/05/2018

Western Crete

Riviera At Their Best

This is a varied, interesting and well balanced holiday. The tour manager, Jesse, was excellent as was our local guide, Ireni in Knossos and then in the archaeological museum in Heraklion, superb knowledge and so enthusiastic. It is hard to find a highlight there are so many but along with our day in Knossos I have to mention the Botanical Park, the Imbros Gorge and the family run Kamihis Farm. However you need to be aware that the botanical park has a fair amount of up and down walking and whilst the gorge is downhill it is very rocky underfoot and not to be taken lightly. The farm is such good fun, making pies and milking goats guided by such friendly people. The hotels we couldn’t fault. The Eleftheria was very comfortable and modern and where Alex the barman is second to none. The Idi Hotel is still enjoyable in lovely surroundings just, shall we say, more Greek! Well done Riviera this holiday is a gem.

Review by: Mr & Mrs Bowden on 15/05/2018

The Dalmatian Coast - Split - Zadar - Split

We had a wonderful time. The ship was great, very clean, catered for all our needs. Food was amazing chef Slob and his sous chef did wonders in such a small kitchen. Waiter Nino and the rest of the crew were fantastic. Our tour manager Helene was lovely, she made a good holiday great. We have travelled with Riveria on 3 occasions now and have never been disappointed. Would highly recommend travelling with Riveria Travel, Thank you

Review by: Susan and David Stafford on 15/05/2018

The Dalmatian Coast - Dubrovnik - Split - Dubrovnik on the MV Corona

I have just returned from the 7 night Dalmatian Coast cruise on the MV Corona and have nothing but praise for the ship, its crew, Martina (the excellent Cruise Director), the on board catering arrangements, the itinerary and Riviera's choice and organisation of all these things. Everything went like clockwork from start to finish and I cannot think of a single aspect that could be improved. Thank you.

Review by: David on 13/05/2018

Bruges

An amazing 4 day break to Bruges and Ypres. From our being met by Annette on the Eurostar to our departure 4 days later everything was perfect. Annette was so friendly, professional and knowledgeable, it made the holiday even more perfect for myself and twin sister who were celebrating our 60th birthday. Lovely also to meet new friends on the coach journey from Lille to Bruges and also when we were out and about. Bruno our driver also deserves a mention, great driving. The Hotel, Martin's Bruges could not have been more central just behind the belfry and square. Modern rooms, fantastic breakfast, bar and reception area. First evening time to unpack and find somewhere to eat. Plenty of eating places in and around the square. On day 2 the walking tour excellent. Annette showed us so many wonderful and interesting places in the 2 hour tour. Pointing out places for us to go back and see in our own time. Highly recommended was the chocolate shop/café for the best hot chocolate ever. The boat trip on the canal fabulous. Beer wall, museums, churches and café/restaurants great. Day 3 a lovely early walk to the coach and then off to Tyne Cot Cemetery. A must especially as we arrived early and the atmosphere is very special. On to Ypres. Another emotive place. From the Menin Gate to the Silk Hall. A light lunch before back on the coach to the Passchendaele Memorial Museum. What an amazing tour through the trenches and museum and gardens. After a wonderful day a great drive back to Bruges and again time to ourselves. On our final day the trip to the Chocolate demonstration brilliant ending with a tasting and time to buy. Back to the hotel to finish packing before a final look round the centre of Bruges, lunch and on to the coach for our trip back to Lille. All we can say is fabulous time and would definitely recommend it.

Review by: Dawn Devitt on 25/04/2018

Krakow

This was our first occasion to use Riviera Travel. We were most impressed with everything from your website, communication and the tour itself. Our tour manager, Karolyna, was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The Novotel hotel was in a brilliant location and the staff and food could not be faulted. Krakow is a beautiful city and we saw in glorious sunshine too. This experience has just made us want to choose another tour.

Review by: Helen Heron on 12/05/2018

Moscow & St Petersburg

We have just returned from our 6 day tour to Moscow & Saint Petersburg and it has been a wonderful experience. We were not sure what to expect from either city given the current political situation. Both cities were beautiful in their own way, filled with treasures and history, very clean and safe to walk round any time of day or night. Our guide Bernie was extremely knowledgeable and had everything well organised. This is about the 10th trip we have taken with riviera and they have all been excellent. Please do not be put off going to Russia because of the inconvenience of getting your visa, the visit more than made up for this. Thankyou Riviera and see you in Switzerland in August.

Review by: Jean Sutcliffe on 08/05/2018

Japan

We had waited for over a year to visit Japan with Riviera and we can honestly say that we were not disappointed. Japan is a beautiful, clean country and the people are so friendly, gracious and welcoming. We were amazed at the patience of the Japanese people and their orderly way of life. Our flights with ANA were lovely, all of our hotels comfortable and well located and our tour manager, Paul, an absolute star! Paul, typical of Riviera tour managers, was welcoming, organised and made everyone feel special and he has a wicked sense of humour! Paul was backed up by local guides, all of whom were knowledgeable, approachable and more than happy to assist the clients.

We missed the cherry blossom, it being extremely early this year. This was made up for by the most glorious weather on nearly every day and when we visited Mount Fuji, we had the most beautiful and clear views anyone could have asked for! Needless to say, the cameras were working overtime!

We had a fantastic time eating the local food and learning to use chopsticks properly! Our guide had us eating M&Ms with chopsticks on the coach, as practice! We tried various restaurants, some local and quick, some formal. All of them served beautiful food and most had English menus.

We decided to include the night in the typical Ryokan Inn, along with 12 others from the tour. We had an external room, separated from the main inn by a lovely Japanese garden. We were dressed for dinner in typical attire by one of the staff and served a beautiful Japanese banquet in a private dining room. Although this costs extra, we would recommend this to anyone thinking of this tour.

Pam and I have travelled with Riviera Travel a lot and we can honestly say that this is the most wonderful holiday. Whether you are out to see Shinto shrines, Buddhist temples or just relax and watch the world go by, you will not be disappointed with this tour. Oh, by the way, should you like shopping, Tokyo and Kyoto have the shops for you!

Review by: John & Pam Moorfield on 19/04/2018

Dubrovnik, the Dalmatian Coast & Montenegro

This was my first Solo travel. I was extremely nervous but found everyone so friendly. Franni our coach driver was very experienced and got us round some awkward hairpin bends safely. I cannot speak too highly of Suzanne our tour Manager, she was so helpful and worked hard to make sure everything ran smoothly, nothing was too much trouble. The tour itself was amazing and the hotel and food great, a lovely holiday and good value. I would certainly travel Solo with Riviera again.

Review by: Betty Cheesman on 21/04/2018

Rajasthan, the Taj Mahal & Amritsar’s Golden Temple

Just got back from an amazing tour of Rajasthan, The Taj Mahal, & Amritsar's Golden Temple with Riviera Travel. It was a fantastic tour and we saw and did so much in the two weeks! There were too many highlights to list and even though I'd read the itinerary carefully was still amazed at how much was crammed in. I would add that Gill (Tour Manager) and Kunal (Tour Guide) were both excellent.

They were helpful and knowledgeable and, when situations and plans can change at the drop of a turban, were calm, organised and professional.

The tour was full on from day one but got a little easier towards the end - and the two night stays were very welcome.

I would thoroughly recommend Riviera Travel and look forward to future trips with them.

Review by: Andy Quickenden-Smith on 07/02/2018

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.